My Wife The Thrill Seeker

Most people accept that there are people genetically predisposed to thrill seeking activities. My parents thought a good round of golf was thrilling. I didn’t.

 

When I was 7 I began riding motorcycles without my parent’s permission. At an early age I learned the thrill of controlling a fast mechanical device without the consent of my elders. It was the thrill seeker’s  exacta and I was hooked. As I grew if someone who knew me said something that involved the phrase, “I dare you”, it was usually directed at me.

 

At 16 I got my driver’s license the day after my birthday. A week later I took part in my first sports car rally. I eventually earned my Sports Car Club of American ProRally competitor’s license. Without boring you with details of rallying, I have driven down a dirt road that I had never seen before at over 100 mph. At night with another thrill seeker sitting beside me telling me when to turn. On purpose.

 

I went to school in the late seventies and early eighties. I have no intention of incriminating myself or anyone else but I did attend some parties during that time. I partied like a thrill seeker. Use your imagination.

 

At 25 despite having limited use of one leg I was introduced to skiing. I’m sure it was odd looking to see someone walking to the ski area with a cane but I became good enough to qualify as an instructor. I also became good enough to ski regularly on the most difficult runs and regularly did. I also did some ski racing. Skiing was just another way to get a thrill when I couldn’t ride motorcycles or drive race cars.

 

As I’ve aged the thrill seeking activities have lessened primarily due to lack of funds or physical inability. If someone offered me a rally car drive today I’d be in, in a heartbeat but I just don’t have the funds to make it happen myself. I still ride motorcycles and will until I or the law deem myself unable. I do ride a little less hard than I used to. That is more of a decision to avoid possible legal repercussion than less of a need to get a thrill. If I can get that rush from something else I will.

 

A couple days ago my wife and I were participating in a couple of our less risky avocations. We were shopping for antiques and geocaching. As we were getting close to home she asked if we could go to a particular store so she could get coffee. I never got the whole caffeine rush thing as it has pretty disturbing effects on me physically so I just avoid the stuff. I may be a thrill seeker but that doesn’t make me a fool.

 

We got to the store around 4 on Saturday afternoon. This store has a huge coffee selection and the coffee junkies were there in droves. My wife was looking for a particular brand and type of coffee. Being the helpful hubby I tried to help but knowing not much about coffee I was just kind of in the way of the regulars. That’s when it happened. I turned 180 degrees from the rack I had been browsing when I saw him. Built like a middle linebacker and intent on the beans directly in front of me he was hurtling towards the coffee rack at break neck speed. Fortunately, I was able to employ two things I learned from racing motorcycles, cars and skis which was situational awareness and accident avoidance. At the last microsecond I moved out of the way of the blitzing linebacker and saved my neck. Dick Butkus got his beans and I got that rush. I now know what it must feel like to run with the bulls at Pamplona. I can’t wait to go coffee shopping again.

 

Leave a comment